How to Share Your Google Calendar

How to Share Your Google Calendar

Having a shared calendar allows you and your team to work together in a much better way. Instead of sending messages and emails back and forth, simply learn how to share your Google Calendar and plan ahead with ease.

 

As a team, you should always be aware of upcoming events that affect every member, such as conferences, meetings, and deadlines. Google Calendar is a wonderful, free tool that allows you and your team to plan ahead together. By sharing your calendar with a fellow team member, you can discuss and plan according to your personal schedules.

how to share calendar

Sharing your Google Calendar might seem like a complicated process if you’re not familiar with the steps involved. In this article, we’ll show you from start to end how you can share your calendar and work together with others on putting together a schedule.

 

Share your Google Calendar from the web

 

Most people primarily use the web version of Google Calendar for its extended accessibility. In the section below, we’ll take a look at how you can share a calendar using a web browser on any desktop device.

 

  1. Navigate to the www.google.com/calendar website. You should be able to see all of the calendars you created here associated with your Google account. By default, Google Calendars also connects with services such as Gmail and Google Drive.
  2. Hover over the calendar you want to share with your mouse cursor. You can see a list of your calendars on the left side of the screen. You can rename each calendar and organize your plans with ease.
  3. Click on the three dots to expand the drop-down menu.
    how to share google calendar
  4. From here, select Settings and sharing. You’ll be taken to a new page all about sharing your Google Calendar.
    calendar settings
  5. Scroll down to the Share with specific people section, then click on the + Add people button. A new pop-up window should appear within your browser.
    share calendar with specific people
  6. Provide the email address of the person you want to share your calendar with. You may also use the drop-down menu to select people from your already existing contacts, if any are saved.
    share calendar with your contact
  7. When done, click the Send button to invite someone to see or edit your calendar. They’ll receive a notification via the email address you entered. In some cases, you may need to grant additional permission for access.

 

Share your Google Calendar on mobile

 

At the time of writing, you can’t share a Google Calendar using the iOS app or the Android app. However, you’re still able to edit every calendar you own and use all of your Google accounts to sync changes across devices.

 

How to manage permissions for your shared Google Calendar

 

After sharing your Google Calendar with someone, you might want to change their permissions or completely remove them from the calendar. This can be done easily, providing you with a secure way of sharing your schedule with both teammates and outsiders.

 

Follow the guide below to learn how you can manage the permissions of a shared Google Calendar, or how to remove people from your Google Calendar. Our step-by-step guide aims to bring you the easiest, fastest methods of getting this done.

 

  1. Navigate to the www.google.com/calendar website. You should be able to see all of the calendars you created here associated with your Google account. By default, Google Calendars also connects with services such as Gmail and Google Drive.
  2. Hover over the calendar you have previously shared and want to change permissions on. You can see a list of your calendars on the left side of the screen. You can rename each calendar and organize your plans with ease.
  3. Click on the three dots to expand the drop-down menu.
    share calendar on web
  4. From here, select Settings and sharing. You’ll be taken to a new page all about sharing your Google Calendar.
    settings sharing
  5. Scroll down to the Share with specific people section, where you can see each person currently having access to your calendar. Here, click on their current permissions and select a different group based on your needs:
    • See free/busy information (hide details): This person can see dates when your calendar is booked and when it has free time. However, they aren’t able to see the names or details of any event.
    • See all event details: This person can view all of the details of events, with the exemption of private events.
    • Make changes to events: This person can see and make changes to events, including private events. 
    • Make changes and manage sharing: This person has owner rights to the calendar.
      owner rights
    • To entirely remove someone from having access to your Google Calendar, click on the X button next to their email address.
      remove access to your calendar

 

Final thoughts

 

We hope this guide was able to teach you how easy it is to share and manage your Google Calendars. If you need further assistance regarding the topic, don’t hesitate to reach out to our support team here at Softwarekeep. We’re eager to help you with any technical difficulties you may experience in your day-to-day life.

 

If you’re looking for more guides or want to read more tech-related articles, consider subscribing to our newsletter. We regularly publish tutorials, news articles, and guides to help you in your day-to-day tech life.



Copyright © 2013-present Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.